The Extra Mile For Women in Saskatchewan's Agriculture Industry

presented by

AgriBiz Communications Corp

in partnership with

Saskatchewan Women in Ag

2019 Extra Mile Award Winner

This year’s award focuses on events and initiatives that promote agriculture and bring farmers and consumers together. We had several excellent nominations and I thank everyone who took the time to provide such worthy submissions.

It is our pleasure to present 2019’s The Extra Mile Award to Mrs. Jennifer Lindgren. Jenn is the epitome of a hardworking prairie girl and who goes the extra mile in everything she is involved in. A lifelong farmer, devoted mom, active community member and wonderful agvocate she strives to represent the whole industry. In 2018, she spearheaded a ‘Food Farm’ program with the local elementary school, where she brings children out to their farm in spring and fall to teach them about seeding, harvest, livestock, farm safety and other farm components using demonstration stations for each of these important topics. She is a leader in the local 4-H club and co-founder of the Farmer’s Filthy 5K fun run and fundraiser and her and her husband were Saskatchewan’s Outstanding Young Farmers in 2018.

Jennifer has chosen to present the $1,000 donation to Town of Norquay to replace the score clock in their skating rink.

The 2018 Extra Mile Award was presented to Alanna Koch.

The Extra Mile Award

For Women in Saskatchewan’s Agriculture Industry

AgriBiz has a long history of volunteering in our home community and serving on agricultural boards and committees. We value the opportunity to give back and foster a better future for coming generations and we take every opportunity to promote the thriving food industry in our province. In celebration of more than 25 years serving the food and farming industries, we are teaming up with the Saskatchewan Women in Ag and offering The Extra Mile Award to women in the agriculture industry who have made note-worthy contributions to their communities while inspiring support for Saskatchewan’s agriculture and food systems.

This annual award will recognize a female individual each year who has gone ‘the extra mile’ in the following areas:


Mentorship and Leadership


Events and Initiatives


Advocacy and Engagement

 2020 Advocacy and Engagement

The recipient is a woman whose agricultural advocacy and consumer engagement has fostered conversations about food and farming. She seeks opportunities to speak up about farming practices and correct misinformation about food production. These conversations can take place online or in person and must be personally driven initiatives (ie. not a result of paid employment).

All nominee’s efforts will have had a positive impact on their communities and played a measurable part in inspiring support for the agriculture industry and fostering conversations about the food we grow.

Award Value: $1000 PER YEAR

The award will be donated to a registered charity or community initiative of the winner’s choosing.

Award Criteria

  • Nominations are open to all women who are involved in the Saskatchewan agriculture industry.
  • Nominations must be received by the AgriBiz Communications Corp. office by September 30th each year.
  • Nominees must be a resident of Saskatchewan.
  • You may nominate more than one individual.
  • Nominations will be accepted from anyone, including the Women in Ag Board.
  • Current Women in Ag board members are not eligible for nomination.
  • A panel of three will select the winner.

Please submit nominations to:

AgriBiz Communication Corp.
BAY 6A – 3602 Taylor Street East
Saskatoon, SK S7H 5H9
FAX: 306-244-4497
ATTENTION: Extra Mile Award

For more information please contact us.



Share This